Skip to content

Point/Counterpoint

June 29, 2010

These are either genius or a complete waste of money.

Right now I’m leaning towards genius.  Now I already own hard-core, monsoon ready rainboots, which are perfect  for torrential downpours. 

I also used to own a really great pair of purple Marc Jacobs rain boots, that were perfect for late spring and early fall, when my other boots are too heavy. But they recently died, which is to be expected when you only pay $7 for shoes.

So now I’m lusting after these because:
1. They’re so stylish and chic. The equestrian detailing is killing me, plus I wouldn’t have to bother with carrying a change of shoes if I wore these, because they will pretty much go with anything.
2. It’s Givenchy for only $250

But at the same time:
1. $250 is a lot of money for some rain boots.
2. Buying them means I fell victim to some clever merchandising. The price is low enough to signal a deal (Givenchy shoes average around $600), but expensive enough to feel like a splurge.

Decisions, decisions… Though I have a feeling these may end up in my closet come fall.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 2:18 pm

    those are awesome. but at the same time, they look like something a one armed man with a hook would wear in a horror film. so basically, yeah. you should totally get them.

Leave a Reply

